Review: Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald

Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald

3 of 5 stars


Book Summary:

Is this all there is? I hadn’t had so much as a sniff of a shag for over a year. I scraped the last dregs of Caramel Chew Chew ice cream out of the bottom of the tub with my finger and licked it. It left a sticky smear on my phone’s screen when I typed into Google, “How to find love, sex and happiness.”

Charlotte has always been a good girl.

She sorts her paper from her plastic. She eats her greens (even Spirulina, whatever that is). Boozy brunches with her best friends on the third Sunday of every month are about as bad as she gets.

But being good is getting boring…
Charlotte’s not just stuck in a rut – she’s buried in it up to her chin. The only company she has in bed is the back catalogue of Netflix and falling in love feels like the stuff of fairy tales. So when she stumbles across a popular podcast, Sorry Not Sorry, which challenges women to embrace their inner bad girl, she jumps at the chance to shake things up.

Old Charlotte would never ask for a stranger’s number, go on a blind date or buy lacy lingerie… But New Charlotte is waving goodbye to her comfort zone (with a side order of margaritas). And it turns out that good things happen to bad girls, as Charlotte finally finds her Mr Right – or so she thinks… Is falling in love too tough a challenge even for Charlotte?

Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane and Matt Dunn will love this fabulously feel-good novel that will make you laugh till you cry and leave you living life to the full, margarita in hand!


Book Review:

Proper chick lit, and a fast read. That's all I was looking for to get me out of my reading slump, and this was the book that did it!


Chick lit has always been my fall back option, the genre I read when I don't feel like reading much else.


This is the story of Charlotte and how she's been single for, according to her, absolute ages.
She comes across a podcast called Sorry Not Sorry by an anonymous single girl who is also searching for someone to love. Each episode of the podcast spurs her on to push her boundaries, love herself, and do things for herself. Along with the podcast's self-proclaimed bad girl, she also learns to give life a chance, and experiences many crazy things.


Female friendship plays a strong role in this story, which I am glad about. I like it when the girls in the story are friends instead of blindly hating on each other. It isn't very nice to advance the idea that women are that shallow and unwilling to support each other. So I especially enjoy books that portray good female friendships, and this mostly did.


There's love and lust and lies and scandal and intrigue. All packed together in a decently quick read, which I enjoyed immensely. It's not Sophie Kinsella, so I don't really agree with the blurb, but it's not bad. Good for a one-time read. And surely a good one to break your reading slump!


Comments